Racers announced for the 55th STIHL National Championship Air Races in Reno

    Racers announced for the 55th STIHL National Championship Air Races in Reno

    The Reno Air Racing Association (RARA) is pleased to announce the highly-anticipated racing lineup for the 55th STIHL National Championship Air Races, scheduled September 12-16, 2018 at Reno-Stead Airport.

    The event will feature six racing classes including Unlimited, Jet, Sport, T6, Formula One and Biplane, with speeds reaching over 500 miles per hour.

    Defending Gold champions returning this year include Rick Vandam flying American Spirit in the Jet Class, Jeff Lavelle flying Race 39 in the Sport Class, John Lohmar flying Radial Velocity in the T6 Class, Lowell Slatter flying Fraed Naught in the Formula One Class and Andrew Buehler flying Phantom in the Biplane Class.

    Returning to Reno this year following long absences in the Unlimited Class are Brent Hisey flying Miss America, Mike Brown flying Goldfinger (formerly Risky Business) and Lady B, previously known as Bardahl Miss, will be flown by Michael Pfleger. Graeme Frew, flying Full Noise is returning to Reno for the second year in a row from New Zealand, and for the first time in decades a P63 Kingcobra will round the pylons at Reno.

    "This is an exciting lineup of talented pilots flying beautiful planes, and we expect to see some close and competitive racing in all of the classes," said Tony Logoteta, RARA COO. "We are really looking forward to welcoming back some teams that haven't been to Reno in years and also seeing all of the members of this passionate racing community that follow our one-of-kind event."

    In the Unlimited class, the following racers are scheduled to participate:

    Brant Seghetti - Blondie

    Brent Hisey - Miss America

    Curt Brown - Sawbones

    Dan Vance - Speedball Alice

    Dennis Sanders - Eagle's Wings

    Graeme Frew - Full Noise

    Jim "JD" Dale - Pretty Polly

    JP Thibodeau - Crusader

    Joel Swager - Dreadnought

    Mark Watt - 924G

    Michael Pfleger - Lady B

    Mike Brown - Goldfinger

    Rob Gordan - Lady Jo

    Sherman Smoot - Argonaut

    Tom Nightingale - Bunny

    Pace Plane: Steve Hinton T33-Pace

    Alternate Pace: Kevin Eldridge

    Safety: Robert Patterson Wee Willy

    Alternate Pilots:

    Joe Thibodeau

    Mark Moodie

    In the Jet class, the following racers are scheduled to participate:

    Alexandre Eckmann - Race 37

    Bob McCormack - Athena

    Charlie Camilleri - Blue Ice

    J. Kevin Roll - Miss Independence

    Jeff Turney - Robin 1

    Jim Beyer - Poky

    Joe Gano - Sluggo

    Lachie Onslow - Drop Bear

    Larry Labriola - Sarance

    Nathan Harnagel - Realty Czech

    Pete Stavrides - American Patriot

    Peter A. Zaccagnino - Just Lucky

    Rick Vandam - American Spirit

    Scott Farnsworth - Dash Force One

    Vicky Benzing - Darkstar II

    Zachary McNeill - Invictus

    Pace Plane: Jay Obernolte The Mistress

    Alternate Pilots:

    Doug Matthews

    Michael Pflegar

    Michael Stieger

    In the Sport class, the following racers are scheduled to participate:

    Abe Gaskins - Under Dog

    Andrew Findlay - One Moment

    Bill Koleno - Joker

    Bob Mills - Mojo

    Chiwami Takagi-Read - Legacy

    Dan West - Whiskey Tango

    Dave Morss - Martins Legacy

    David Robinson - Desert Lightning

    David Sterling - No Name

    Elliot Seguin - Wasabinought

    Ernie O. Sutter - Jus Pass'n Thru

    George Catalano - Bigger Dingo

    James Stringer - Rocket Six

    Jason Rovery - Sport 76

    Jeff Lavelle - Race 39

    Jessy Panzer - Cruse Missile

    Jim Rust - Race 24

    John Flanagan - Greenstreak

    Karl Grove - GA 1

    Kirk Murphy - Papa's Ride

    Lee Ulrich - General Lee

    Louis Gabriel - Blind Luck

    Marc Frederickson - Tenacity

    Mathias Haid - Clas Thunder I

    Matt Beaubien - Low Motion

    Neil Wischer - Triple 8

    Paul Downing - Sport 36

    Peter A. Zaccagnino - Coming In Hot

    Peter Balmer - Swiss Thunder

    Richard Ogg - Neverbird

    Scott Prewitt - Phantom Rocket

    Sean Vanhatten - Havoc

    Skylor Piper - Miss Ruby S.

    Tom McNerney - Unleashed

    Vicky Benzing - Lucky Too

    Vince Walker - Modo Mio

    Pace Plane:

    Bob Mills El Toro

    Rick Vandam - Phoenix

    Alternate Pace Pilots:

    Kevin Eldredge

    Mark Johnson

    Michael Steiger

    Alternate Pilots:

    Dan Ballin

    Jay Adams

    In the T-6 class, the following racers are scheduled to participate:

    Bill Muszala - Miss Ellaneous

    Chris Lefave - Bare Essentials

    Chris Rushing - Barons Revenge

    Dennis Buehn - Midnight Miss III

    Eric Woelbing - Miss TNT

    Gene McNeely - Baby Boomer

    Greg McNeely - Undecided

    John Lohmar - Radial Velocity

    Lee Oman - Eros

    Michael Pfleger - Miss Informed

    Nick S. Macy - Six-Cat

    Pete Stavrides - Gotcha!

    Ralph J. Rina - Miss Humboldt Hunny

    Vic McMann - Gunslinger

    Vitaly Pecherskyy - Abracadabra

    William Walker III - Big Red

    Pace Plane: Rick Siegfried T6 Pace

    Alternate Pilots:

    Joey "Gordo" Sanders

    Kevin Sutterfield

    Mike Scott

    Rob Sanberg

    In the Formula One class, the following racers are scheduled to participate:

    Anders Trygg - Miss Eve

    Casey Erickson - ACME Special

    Eric Gavin - Sonic Zoom

    Jason Barksdale - Tony the Tiger

    Jerry Marshall - Tumbleweed

    Jim Jordan - Miss Min

    Justin Meaders - Limitless

    Justin Phillipson - No Strings Attached

    Justin Phillipson - Sleeper

    Kent Jackson - Once More

    Lio V. Mougel - Hysteria

    Lowell Slatter - Fraed Naught

    Matthew Coughlin - Judy

    Merce Marti - Heat Stroke

    Paul Newman - Fast and Easy

    Phllip Goforth - Annie

    Rob Michie - Sassy Sangoma

    Ross Killin - The Kraken

    Ryszard Zadow - Last Lap Player

    Scott Holmes - Outlaw

    Steve Senegal - Endeavor

    Steve Temple - Outrageous

    Steve Tumlin - Feisty

    In the Biplane class, the following racers are scheduled to participate:

    Alan Hoover - There Be Dragons

    Andrew Buehler - Mistress

    Andrew Buehler - Phantom

    Anthony Oshinuga - Black Hawk

    Casey Erickson - The Batplane

    Eric Zine - Yellow Fever

    Jeffrey Lo - Miss Dianne

    John A. D'Alessandris - RB Special

    Marie-Claire Laberge - The Yellow Bomber

    Robert Austen - FReaKY

    Sam Swift - Smokin' Hot

    Scott McDonald - Christen Eagle

    Scott Thompson - Second Hand

    Tommy Suell - PlaneJunkies

    "Tony" Minoru Higa - Tango Tango

    Racing qualifications for all classes started on Sunday, September 9th at 8:00 a.m. and end on Wednesday, September 12th. Racing will begin the afternoon of Wednesday, September 12th.

    Tickets are on sale for the 55th annual STIHL National Championship Air Races held September 12-16, 2018 at Reno Stead Airport.

    For more information, to purchase tickets or to volunteer click here.

    News In Photos

      Loading ...