Ask Joe: Are Sparks Police ignoring vehicle registration violators?
From the Ask Joe file, we're looking into a question that comes up pretty often, and it has to do with out-of-state license plates.
One of our viewers, Bob, wrote in to ask why his neighbor is allowed to have three cars with out-of-state license plates.
He says Sparks Police showed up recently, but the cars are still there with the out-of-state plates.
Here's what I found out:
It's not uncommon to see cars with out-of-state plates. According to the Nevada DMV, you only have 30 days once you move here to register your vehicle and get your Nevada plates. The initial fine for this is $1,000 so it's a pretty serious infraction if you are caught.
Do police investigate these cases? Our viewer says the problem is getting ignored in his Sparks neighborhood.
I checked with Ken Gallop over at the Sparks Police Department about this. He says the vehicle registration law applies to vehicles that are operated on city streets for more than 30 days, and he says that can sometimes be difficult to investigate or prove.
So Gallop says it's an issue that would typically be addressed during a traffic stop, rather than someone's home, because there's no evidence the vehicles are actually being driven when they're sitting in the driveway or parked on the street.
Also, if you would like to submit a complaint, you can do that by going on to the city of Sparks website and filling out the information so police can respond and investigate.
Again, the bottom line is you are required to get Nevada plates and the grace period is only 30 days. So if you let it go longer than that, you could end up getting a pretty hefty fine; although in this case, it sounds like police decided to let it go without taking any action.